Pita Jungle: Pasadena – 5/19-5/20

First and foremost, I apologize for my lack of posts these last few months. Unemployment is tough and seeking that perfect job takes more time and energy than ever before. I decided to revive my blog (with a whole new redesign coming soon) on a local eatery that just opened up near home.

The entrance is sleek & colorful with a helpful hostess at the counter.

Arizonians love this place. With over 12 locations throughout the grand canyon state, I was pleased that the Pita Jungle family decided to place their California flagship in Pasadena. There seems to be a new phase of restaurants hitting Old Town Pasadena in the last year or so, with Pita Jungle being the latest. To me, it’s an eclectic take on Mediterranean food with dishes from similar regions that can please many palettes without hurting the wallet and the waistline. Situated on Colorado Blvd a door or two down from Intelligentsia, where I wrote about their soft opening many months ago, (click here to read up on that), Pita Jungle has a brightly-colored sign and outdoor seating that make the community notice it’s there and that it’s not kidding around.

Over two nights, the folks at Pita Jungle gave a carte blanche, that is to say, free choice as to what guests would like to drink from the bar and order from the menu. Needless to say, I was ecstatic. Growing up eating Gujarati and Marathi food (from regions of West India), there has always been a Mediterranean undertone to the dinners consumed at my home. From pita bread to tzatziki sauce, the cuisine is anything but a stranger to me and I was thrilled to have a restaurant that brandishes the motto “the art of eating healthy” so close.

Russ, the GM, graciously attended to each and every table both nights, making sure that his guests and customers were attended to and brought attention to their needs or concerns. It was nothing short of excellent service on his part and that of his many servers, busboys, hosts and waiters throughout the evening.

Over both nights, my friends/family and I tried eighteen different and delicious plates. Therefore I will just showcase the few of the many that I loved devouring. From a Mediterranean-inspired quesadilla to a monstrous piece of sweet baklava, Pita Jungle has a myriad of appetizers, entrees and desserts to keep every food enthusiast full and satisfied.

Delicious Margarita & a look at the Tapas Happy Hour Menu! Nothing over $3!

 Roasted Bell Pepper, Tahini & Cilantro Jalapeño Hummus Platter ($6.59)

Gambas Con Ajo – Sauteed Shrimp w/ Pesto & Cheese Pita Slices ($8.99)

Spinach Four Cheese Lavosh Bread Quesadilla ($7.99)

Pesto Lavosh Turkey Wrap w/ Greek Salad ($8.89)

Roasted Garlic & Portabello Wood-fired Pizza ($9.19)

Wood-fired Mahi Mahi w/ fresh pita chips ($9.99)

Seared & Wood-fired fresh salmon w/garlic mashed potatoes ($14.59)

Amazingly fluffy and sweet Baklava ($2.89)

Like I had written earlier, this is literally only half of what I sampled at Pita Jungle. The other nine dishes are just as wonderful and creative, but I found these to be the most memorable and tasty.

The Arizona-based chain has gotten me hooked and they will see me frequent their outdoor seating on warm summer days in Pasadena, margarita in hand with some good grub on my table. I hope you find this appetizing enough to head down there soon because the jungle is hopping with people after only being open five days! Remember there is free 90-minute parking throughout Old Town, plenty of time to stop by Pita Jungle for a drink and some food!

The rest of the dishes I tried and more (link also on sidebar): Pita Jungle Pasadena

Pita Jungle: Pasadena                                                                                                                   43 East Colorado Blvd
Pasadena, CA 91105
626-432-7482                                                                                                                               Twitter: @PitaJungle

– gmangoman a.k.a. Hemang

About gmangoman

I'm a college graduate with a keen sense of finding all things fun, food-related and free around Los Angeles and Orange County...and beyond!
This entry was posted in Events, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pita Jungle: Pasadena – 5/19-5/20

  1. Nancy says:

    Nice post! I will have to make the trek out from San Gabriel 😉 to come try this place out!

  2. Really nice G-man, it all looks so delicious. Your appetizing pics have gotten my stomach a grumbling. I will have to make the trek to P-town ASAP.

Leave a Reply

