Sweet Life Patisserie – Eugene, OR

Although I have visited about 25 of the 50 states of our great nation, I can’t believe I’ve never written about my experience at any of the eateries in those states. I apologize for that, readers! My close friend Stephanie asked me to partake in a drive up to Oregon and at first, I was reluctant just because of my lack of knowledge on the state and for my severe lack of funds (funemployment can do that to you). After perusing some websites and blogs, I accepted her offer joyfully and started the road trip plans. Needless to say, I was enlightened – in a way – about the plethora of interesting places that are located in this beaver state of 3.8 million people(a little more than the population of Los Angeles proper).

When I heard the words “Eugene, Oregon,” my pop culture-obsessed brain flashed back to a 2004 episode of The Simpsons where Lisa portrays Sacagawea and Lenny & Carl are Lewis & Clark, discovering the Pacific Northwest. Yes, I know this is non-sequitur to the post, but I love this show so much that I wanted it to be a part of it. Enjoy!

Alright, back to business. Not knowing that Yelp in Oregon is underused, I originally passed over Sweet Life due to its 124 reviews and less-than-detailed user reviews. Thankfully, I’ve learned from fellow bloggers to never take Yelp seriously and do a double take by going on other websites. By simply hitting up their facebook fan page, I found that they had over 13,000 likes and over 500 check-ins. From this, I witnessed the imbalance of certain websites in different states and how social media plays a huge role with a small business like SLP. There are many a review of the history behind Sweet Life and how it came to fruition from two sisters in a garage to the present location so to change things up, the purpose of my post will be of my specific experience only and the sweets I consumed.

The facade of Sweet Life.

After coming in contact with one of the managers, Aaron W. on the day of my departure, I was exposed to some great Oregon hospitality which I never knew existed especially in a college town like Eugene (GO DUCKS!). I was told to just stop in whenever I arrive in Eugene and they would take care of us. After our 12-hour drive up the Interstate 5, showering and dining nearby, we went to Sweet Life and witnessed some of those 13,000 likes in real life. There were over 30 people in line just minutes before closing time! Who knew Eugenians loved their dessert? I was immediately exposed to bright colors, scintillating aromas and lots of attracting visual displays. Dessert has always been able to make a stranger in a strange land feel at home and walking into Sweet Life was no exception.

Tiramisu – espresso-rum-soaked sponge cake filled w/ tiramisu rum cream & chocolate shavings w/ chocolate ganache & topped with rum cream ($4.50-4.75).

Fruit Tartlet – Shortbread crust filled w/ custard topped using seasonally available fruit ($4.75).

Cloud 9 (White Russian) Cake – chocolate cake layered & topped w/ whipped cream, frosted w/ ganache ($4.50-4.75). 

Sour Cherry Cheesecake – vanilla cheesecake w/ graham cracker crust, sour cream & cherries on top ($4.50-4.75).

 Chocolate Caramel Shortbread Cookie ($3.25).

The chocolate caramel shortbread cookie was by far my favorite plated dish of the night. The shortbread was buttery and flaky and just right with layers of caramel and chocolate adding to a texture paradise in my mouth. The cakes were all delicious, with the Cloud 9 leading the race for my tastebuds. Honestly, all their desserts as well as the items I gazed upon in their 20-foot long display had my head reeling with a sugar high. From the service to the desserts to the atmosphere, my friend and I had a great experience at Sweet Life. If you ever find yourself at a Ducks game or driving on through Eugene, make sure you stop at Sweet Life and pick up some eats to go. Believe me, you will not be disappointed. Now to order my dry ice, Fed-Ex delivery for my birthday next month…

More photos from my night at Sweet Life can be found here(link also on sidebar) – Sweet Life

Sweet Life Patisserie
755 Monroe Street
Eugene, OR 97402-5135
(541) 683-5676

– gmangoman a.k.a. hemang

About gmangoman

I'm a college graduate with a keen sense of finding all things fun, food-related and free around Los Angeles and Orange County...and beyond!
This entry was posted in Bakery, Dessert, Oregon, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet Life Patisserie – Eugene, OR

  1. Erin Keenan says:

    They’ve also got excellent coffee and espresso drinks; their cafe au laits in particular are excellent and a relative bargain at $2.75.

    Two personal desert favorites are the pecan pie (sooooo good) and the key-lime tartlet. I’d recommend shying away from the chocolate-based deserts, unless you like your cake about as dense as a black-hole. 🙂

Leave a comment